Karolin has been instrumental in the successful launch of a Saint Lucia Tourism Enhancement Fund (a voluntary contribution system of US $2 per visitor per room night), which enjoys a high compliance rate among the Saint Lucia hotels. As of March 2016, Mrs Troubetzkoy has been appointed the chairperson of the Tourism Enhancement Fund. 

What is the Tourism Enhancement Fund (TEF)?

The Tourism Enhancement Fund (TEF), is a private sector initiative established on 1st October 2013, designed to   allow the Tourism industry a greater opportunity to play an integral role in the sustainable development of our destination. The TEF is financed by a small, voluntary  donation from our guests of $2 USD per night, and goes towards community development and environmental      projects and actions which will affect the livelihoods of our current and future generations.  By collecting a small  voluntary fee from our visitors, the Saint   Lucia Hotel and Tourism Association will also be able to support projects specific to ensuring that our island is clean and safe for visitors and residents alike, including the beautification of specific areas of our island.

How is the TEF Managed?

The TEF is managed by a Board of Trustees comprising representatives from the Public and Private Sectors who ensure that projects undertaken by the fund continue to have a strong education, environmental and developmental impact. The SLHTA uses its existing resources to administer the projects identified for funding so as to ensure that ALL your contributions go directly to towards the projects.

Board of Trustees

Mrs. Karolin Troubetzkoy — Chairperson of the TEF & CHTA President

Mr. Donovan Williams— Deputy Chairman of the TEF and Permanent Secretary for the Ministry for Tourism, Heritage and Creative Industries
Mr. Sanovnik Destang — President of the SLHTA
Mr. Louis Lewis — Saint Lucia’s Director of Tourism
Dr. Reginald Darius — Permanent Secretary for the Ministry for Finance and Economic Affairs
Mr. Winston Anderson — SLHTA Representative for Large Hotels
Ms. Cheryl Skeete — SLHTA Representative for Small Hotels
Mr. Noorani Azeez — Chief Executive Officer of the SLHTA
Ms. Yola St. Jour — Finance and Administration Officer of the SLHTA